25
Aug
09

Ode to the Emotionally Unavailable

If I were to be with anyone, it would be you

(I’m so alone)

I wish I was ready for a relationship like this

(I never will be)

When I said I loved you, that was true

(I don’t know the meaning)

Can we still be friends – but friends that kiss?

(I’m so confused)

I just don’t have the courage to leave her

(I’m a coward)

But I always feel safe here under your covers

(I’m hiding)

This time she’ll be faithful and I believe her

(I know she won’t)

Can we be friends, and sometimes, maybe, lovers?

(I want to hedge my bets)

You deserve a better man than I’ll ever be

(I’m looking for something else)

If only I was in a better place in my life

(I’m not going anywhere)

You know that you’re the only one for me

(I’m blaming you)

I have to take this call, it’s from my wife.

(And you think you’ve got it bad)

9 Responses to “Ode to the Emotionally Unavailable”


  1. August 25, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    A lot of duds to find a diamond…

  2. August 25, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Hmm. Your translations here are frighteningly good. I just may have to print this out as a reference tool for my dating forrays…

  3. 5 Marie
    August 25, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    You definitely know what is really being said and what is true.

    • 6 shoeboxdweller
      August 25, 2009 at 5:52 pm

      Who me? I’ve never heard these lines before. I only hear about these things from my friends…

      Yeah, that’s it.

  4. August 25, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Love this….and no decoder ring required.

    • 8 shoeboxdweller
      August 25, 2009 at 8:06 pm

      Welcome, Jenny! Thanks.

      If only I had the decoder ring…I could finally make my fortune and retire to the secret island where all men are emotionally available.

  5. August 26, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    I was going to go through the list and give each a “Said it” or “Heard it” but decided that’s way to introspective for this early in the morning. Safe to say I’ve said or heard most or all of these. Except the last one, on that count, your Honor, I’m totally innocent.


Leave a Reply

