07
Sep
09

Gotham at Night

I am a city person.  I feel nervous in the country, where no one can hear you scream.  I feel nervous in the suburbs, where people can hear you scream, but will likely ignore it.

I rarely feel unsafe in Toronto.  Wary, sometimes vigilant, often annoyed.  Never unsafe.

And then I hear them.

Three distinct gunshots.  Nearby.  Perhaps in that alleyway.

The first time I’ve heard the gunshots, although I’m sure that they’ve been fired nearby before.  I want to go to the window to look, and I want to huddle under the blankets.  My heart is pounding.

“I’m such a lightweight”, I think to myself.

There are no other sounds, no yelling, no screaming, no sirens.  I hear movement upstairs, and I realize I’m not the only one who has been disturbed.

I look out the window.  A man walking a dog through the alleyway.  A man loading stock into the store across the street.  A white limo pulls up in front of my building, and the driver and a man in a tuxedo get out and begin unloading bags.  A bride in full wedding gown gingerly climbs out of the back, attempting to keep the white material from brushing the ground.

Just another night.

6 Responses to “Gotham at Night”


  1. September 7, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Maybe they were just recording the newest MIA track

  2. 3 Alyxherself
    September 7, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    some folks get lit and like to pop of a couple of caps. if you don’t hear screams or sirens no worries.

    • 4 shoeboxdweller
      September 7, 2009 at 5:54 pm

      That was my reasoning at about 4 am, after not being able to get back to sleep for a couple of hours. I’m not sure I want to get used to it, though.

  3. September 8, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Awesome. I was completely with you, and have very similar moments out here in LA. In fact, add in a dash of police helicopters hovering overhead, and you’d be describing la-la at night instead. Beautiful.

    • 6 shoeboxdweller
      September 8, 2009 at 10:58 am

      I think we’re a little less used to the gunplay up here in Toronto, but unfortunately it seems to be part of life in any big city.


Leave a Reply

