16
Sep
09

Your Soul is Showing

I respectfully submit for your review and comment…

He's got soul, and the patch to prove it.

He’s got soul, and the patch to prove it.

The Soul Patch.*

I further submit that the only men who should sport such facial hair are jazz musicians.

Dizzy Gillespie, demonstrating proper use of the Soul Patch.

Dizzy Gillespie, demonstrating proper use of the Soul Patch.

Side effects of improper use of the Soul Patch include:

WTF?

WTF?

Uhhhhh…and also…

Billy Ray updates his look from "hillbilly" to "just plain creepy".

Billy Ray updates his look from “hillbilly” to “just plain creepy”.

And finally, I submit that there is no good way to explain to a middle-aged man that you would gladly continue dating him, except that every time you look at him, you think about Hot Lips Hannigan from the Flintstones.

Sometimes honesty just isn’t the best policy.

*AKA the “Sax Player’s Moustache”, the “Douche Tag”, the “Dork Tuft” or, my personal favourite, the “Flava Sava”.

14 Responses to “Your Soul is Showing”


  1. 1 Ray
    September 16, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    Billy Ray is my shameful celebrity crush.

  2. 3 Judi
    September 16, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    Oh my God, every single time I see someone with this *thing* under their lip I have the urge to whip out my Lady Bic razor and shave it off….gross.

  3. 5 Marie
    September 16, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Billy Ray Cyrus creeps the crap out of me.

    That said, either grow a full beard or shave that thing off. NOT COOL, men, not cool.

    • 6 shoeboxdweller
      September 16, 2009 at 7:28 pm

      Exactly. Beards are fine. I am not opposed to all facial hair. Just the kind that makes a man look like Colonel Sanders.

  4. September 16, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    I am hereby calling you “Hot Lips” from this moment forward.

  5. September 16, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    But can he blow?

    (Couldn’t resist.)

  6. September 18, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Garth. Country goth at 40-something? We didn’t get it, Garth. We didn’t get it.

    Anyway, I have a beard but I get rid of the soul patch. The bottom lip stays clean.

  7. September 18, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Hey, it’s uncle Howie!

    Except he never talks to me.

    And he’s not really my Uncle.

    And I never knew him.

    And I have an extra letter “L” in my last name.

    Bastard probably is gonna leave me out of his will.


Leave a Reply

