06
Oct
09

Nuit Blech

Every fall, the streets of Toronto fill with urbanites and suburbanites alike, keen to take in the “massive participatory celebration of contemporary art” that is Nuit Blanche.

As someone who is no stranger to putting my thoughts on display for the comment and criticism of others, I can appreciate the effort that the artists put into their projects.

However, I am not among those who believe that anything that evokes an emotional response is art.

Is a giant silver rabbit balloon in the Eaton Centre art?

 

I'm still having nightmares about this.  Photo by the delicious M.

I'm still having nightmares about this. Photo by the delicious M.

 

Is a giant Fun Slide in the middle of Bay Street art?

Ironic, yes.   Spectacle.  Festival, even.

Is a blog a form of art?

Or is it spectacle?  Voyeurism?  Narcissism?

Having said that, there is something brilliant about an opportunity to wander the city at night with good friends to see things that aren’t normally part of the landscape.

And who would ever miss the opportunity to inappropriately touch a large inflatable art installation?

 

My new surreal boyfriend, courtesy of OCAD.  Photo by the lurvely M.

My new surreal boyfriend, courtesy of OCAD. Photo by the lurvely M.

12 Responses to “Nuit Blech”


  1. 1 PJCanuck
    October 6, 2009 at 3:14 am

    Are you the one on the left or the right?

  2. October 6, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    Ooooo, that silver rabbit reminds me of “Donnie Darko”!!! Ooooo, creepy!!

    You look adorable though. Of course you do. 🙂

  3. 5 Marie
    October 6, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    This has nothing to do with your post, but that last picture made me miss you!

    • 6 shoeboxdweller
      October 6, 2009 at 2:25 pm

      Awww, shucks. Only a couple more weeks and you can lick my face. Get there before Lilu…that girl has a bit of a slobber issue.

  4. October 6, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    That’s a rabbit? I thought it was some sort of giant alien vagina.

    This is why I don’t go to art galleries.

  5. October 6, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    AHHHH! I WANT TO LOVE IT AND SQUEEZE IT AND NAME IT GEORGE!!!

  6. October 6, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    *squinting* Are you going for the bellybutton there?

    Not criticizing. I would.


Leave a Reply

