20
Oct
09

Calling in sick

I was going to write a great post about these articles.  A nice, medium-sized rant about how I prefer the title “Ms.” because I deserve the same marital anonymity as a man, but won’t get my panties all bunched up if someone happens to say “excuse me, miss” or even when the store clerk calls me…*shudder*…ma’am.

But I’m just too sick.

And one of the worst things about being single is being single and sick. 

No one will make me a hot drink, or rub my feet, or say “there, there, poor baby”, or pick up my snotty tissues*.  Even people who are attached to the worst louts and bitches in the world at least have that possibility.

Nope, it’s all me, all the time.  Pity party for one.  Unless, of course, you count my new boyfriends Neo (Citran) and Vick(s).

Back to our regularly scheduled programming tomorrow.

Now go buy some flowers for someone you know who isn’t feeling well.

 

* Picking up someone else’s snotty tissues is, by definition, true love.  Not that I throw them everywhere.  They have a habit of multiplying.

12 Responses to “Calling in sick”


  1. 1 Marie
    October 20, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    I’d pick up your tissues if I were there! And make you soup and tea. But you’re too far away and um, I’m not feeling too hot myself.

    Feel better my dear.

  2. 3 L
    October 20, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    perhaps it will comfort you that I am picking up my kids kleenex and they are screaming at the top of their lungs

  3. October 21, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    I have a needy dog who doesn’t understand sick. Good thing I’m rarely sick 😉

    • 6 shoeboxdweller
      October 21, 2009 at 1:14 pm

      If only I could train a dog to go to the store and bring me a latte. Where’s the Littlest Hobo when you need him?

  4. October 21, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Ohh, if I were nearby, I’d make you toast and tea and tuck the blanket under your feet and chin! Nothing like getting even the smallest dose of love when you feel lousy.

    Feel better!!!

  5. October 21, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I heart you so much I would TOUCH a pumpkin spiced latte to bring one to you right now.

    THAT’S LOVE.

  6. October 21, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    …There, there, poor baby… if this were a movie, you’d have caught some Americanized version of the flu your people have no natural immunity to. It could be like The Stand, but in Canada.


Leave a Reply

