22
Dec
09

Holiday visions and dreams for the future

A gal can’t just sit around the office, going through old unread back issues of the Economist, tearing out the now-inadvertently funny Accenture ads featuring Tiger Woods.

“At a time when it’s tougher than ever to be a Tiger…”

What a hoot!  But even this gets old after a while.

***

The other night, while I was walking up Yonge Street to the Terroni’s near St. Clair, I had a vision.  A mobile home, decorated with a Menorah, was driving up the street, blasting Yiddish music from a loudspeaker.*

A young fellow, fully bearded and donning the traditional black hat, was hanging out the back window of the vehicle.  He was grinning from ear to ear, and I must admit, so was I.  I had never seen anything like this before in my life.

“Are you Jewish?” he called out, clearly implying that if I was, I could maybe join the mobile celebration.

I shrugged sadly and shook my head as I replied in the negative.

He waved goodbye as the vehicle kept driving down the street, the happy music fading into the night as quickly as it arrived. 

These are the moments in this city that I would not trade for anything in the world.

***

Whether you light the candles,

or trim a tree;

Whether you celebrate with family,

friends,

or prefer to spend time by yourself –

Have a happy and safe holiday season.

2010 is our year, I can feel it.  The year when all of our dreams come true – even the ones we don’t know about yet.

*I was raised Catholic, so I’m probably getting it all wrong.  But I know all the words to every song in Fiddler on the Roof, so that should count for something, right?

***

PS:  This is for you.  Yes, you.  But for me, it will always be Bay.

The Last Goodbye At Summerhill by Anne Douris and Dan Busheikin.

9 Responses to “Holiday visions and dreams for the future”


  1. 1 rondamarie
    December 22, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    “2010 is our year, I can feel it. The year when all of our dreams come true – even the ones we don’t know about yet.”

    I certainly hope you are right about that…

  2. 3 Marie
    December 22, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I wish you all the very best lady! Have a wonderful holiday season and may the new year bring you all things good that will put a smile on your face!

    • 4 shoeboxdweller
      December 22, 2009 at 4:26 pm

      I will remember 2009 as a year in which I met many kind, funny, generous, and talented friends, making my life more full than I ever imagined. I am proud to count you among them. All the best to you, Marie.

  3. December 22, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    “2010 is our year, I can feel it. The year when all of our dreams come true – even the ones we don’t know about yet.”

    I wholeheartedly agree. Merry Christmas…looking forward to seeing you on Christmas Day. ~ J

  4. December 23, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    “2010 is our year, I can feel it. The year when all of our dreams come true – even the ones we don’t know about yet.”

    I like that. I hope you are completely right. I recently started an online business with my boss providing online education to water operators – I’m hoping 2010 is the year I stop working for the man and start working on something that pays the bills AND I enjoy.

    Thanks for the inspirational message.

    Also, you should have gone with the black hat jew. Those guys might not seem like it, but I tell you – some of them know how to have a good time. Now, if we can only beat that whole “women are inferior thing because god says so” thing out of them, they’d be fun on a whole new level.

  5. December 30, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Funny. I have a damn good feeling about 2010 too… like 2009 was practice, and now we’re finally going to get it super, SUPER right.

    xoxoxoxo

  6. December 30, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    For me? And I didn’t get you anything. Awkward.

    “2010 is our year, I can feel it. The year when all of our dreams come true – even the ones we don’t know about yet.”

    I sure hope you’re right. 🙂


Leave a Reply

