08
Feb
10

And the hits just keep on coming

You can’t always get what you want.

When we were children, my sister used to taunt me by singing this song.  I think she heard it on a K-Tel commercial, and so she only knew the one line.  She would sing it over and over, the same line.

You can’t always get what you want.

Love.  Excitement. Family.

Success.  Happiness. Security.

Money.  Adventure.  Glory.

Revenge.  Justice.  Peace.

We all want something.

You can’t always get what you want.

When the only thing you desperately want is to find the next handhold on the sheer cliff-face of life, you can’t imagine a day when you might be standing at the top of the mountain, wanting to scale the next peak up.

“Look how far I fell,” you think.  “Look how far I can fall.”

Wait, that’s not my voice.

You can’t always get what you want.

I don’t want to climb because I want to reach the summit, I want to climb because I want to feel alive.

I fell, and I survived.  There is no time to ponder why, only enough time to try to find the next handhold up.

You see, she never seemed to learn the rest of the chorus.

But if you try sometimes

You just might find

You get what you need

 

5 Responses to “And the hits just keep on coming”


  1. February 8, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Thank goodness we can’t always get what we want! Because, sometimes, maybe even oftentimes, the things we get instead are even better.

    Lovely post.

  2. February 8, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    You’ll find one a million times better. Promise.

    Or maybe the Shoebox just doesn’t want to let go…

  3. February 9, 2010 at 4:43 am

    I’ve always believed a day without the Stones is like a day without oxygen. Some good advice there.

    Also, could you guys come and get your weather. Is this some kind of payback for NAFTA? 40 or so inches of snow in a week just isn’t supposed to happen here in capital these here United States. Seriously, the govt’s closed early Friday and was closed today and will be closed tomorrow and probably Wednesday as well. It’s a little…tiring.

  4. February 9, 2010 at 6:33 am

    Sometimes what we want isn’t necessarily good for us. BUT I do hope so very much that you do find all that is wonderful and good for you. Because you deserve the very best. Don’t think that you don’t.


Leave a Reply

